HLC Visit Preparation

Higher Learning Commission Accreditation Process

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher learning Commissions accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region. In the United States, colleges and universities voluntarily seek accreditation from nongovernmental bodies. There are two types of educational accreditation: institutional and specialized. The HLC conducts institutional accreditation. The Commission accredits more than 1,000 colleges and universities in 19 states. The states are Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Trinity College of Nursing was accredited by the HLC in 1994 and was given the authority to offer associate and baccalaureate degrees in nursing. In 2002, the HLC conducted a site visit to authorize the College to offer associate degrees in Emergency Medical Services, Radiography, and Surgical Technology. After this accreditation visit, Trinity College assumed the name of Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences. Respiratory Care was added to the complement of health sciences offerings in 2007. The College has experienced many changes since the last accreditation visit in 2003; planning and preparation are in process for the site visit, which will occur from December 3-5, 2012 when the College will host an HLC site visit team.

Preparing for reaffirmation of accreditation requires support and assistance from all programs and departments on campus. A steering committee comprised of faculty, staff and students will coordinate this process. The College welcomes and seeks suggestions and feedback from all of its constituencies.

Accreditation is a process that evaluates quality and provides a road map for institutional improvements. Accreditation assures students that their academic programs meet nationally recognized standards and is required for Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences to receive federal funds for student financial aid and research.

Focus of Reaffirmation of Accreditation at Trinity College of Nursing & Health Sciences

  • Assess the quality of the institution and its effectiveness
  • Assist the institution in making improvements in its operations and effectiveness
  • Provide mission-driven accreditation

Higher Learning Commission Liaisons

  • Cathy Konrad, PhD, RN
  • Cathy DeBaillie, MSEd, RT(R)

Higher learning Commission Steering Committee

  • Cathy Konrad, PhD, RN
  • Cathy DeBaillie, MSEd, RT(R)
  • Tracy L. Poelvoorde, MS, RN
  • Diana Werderman, MSEd, TR(R)
  • JoAnn Wedig, MA, RN
  • Renae Harroun, MSN, RN
  • Dana Boomershine, BS, RRT